Sticky Notes Online Google Desktop Gadget ver 2.0.0.2

Themes

Currently no new themes are available

Back
Help

The Sticky Notes Online Gadget for Google Desktop enables the user to permanently save their notes. Even if the Sticky Notes Online Gadget is removed, the user can reinstall the gadget and login to retrieve her/his notes again. Once the user logs in, the user doesnt need to log back in on computer restarts unless the user explicitly logs off

  • Installing
  • If the gadget is installed as a download from SharPra.com or the Google Desktop Gadgets Page, it will directly install in the Google Desktop Sidebar, however if the user deletes and then wishes to reinstall the gadget, the user can find the gadget listed in the List of Recently Used Sidebar Gadgets.



    Back
  • Welcome Message

  • When the gadget is first installed the user is presented with the following one-time Welcome Message



    Back
  • Notes Window

  • The Main Notes Window where the user can write notes is shown below



    On moving the mouse out of the notes gadget the Login/Register links, the note position and all the add, delete, previous, next buttons are hidden as shown below



    On Resizing the Gadget, the Notes Gadget becomes bigger in size as shown below



    Back
  • Buttons

  • The buttons at the bottom allow the user to do the following:-
    ADD - Add a new note. (Maximum of ten).
    DELETE - Delete the current Note (Not allowed when the user has a single note).
    PREVIOUS - Moves to the previous Note. (Not Allowed when the user is at the first note).
    NEXT - Moves to the next Note. (Not Allowed when the user is at the last note).



    Back
  • Register

  • On initially installing the gadget it works in the offline mode i.e. Notes written will be saved only on your local computer. To Permanently save notes. The user need to Register/Login, which enables the Notes to be saved permanantly on the Notes Server. Clicking the register link brings out the Register Window as shown below.



    The user then fills the required fields



    On clicking the 'Click User' button, the Notes Gadget shows up with the 'Logged In' message with a green button.


    At this point any Notes written in the gadget will be permanently saved, even if you delete the gadget and re-install it, or Log Off and Login back again your notes will be saved. Moreover the notes written after logging in can be accessed (provided the correct login) by all other Sticky Notes Online clients, on other computers and web browsers

    Back
  • Log Off

  • If the user clicks the green button when logged in, a window will appear asking the user if she/he wants to log off as show below



    On clicking 'Continue Offline' the Notes Gadget reverts to start saving Notes locally, these changes cannot be accessed by other clients. The below image shows changes made locally.



    Back
  • Login

  • If the user has already registered and either decides to log off and re-login or installs the Sticky Notes Online Gadget on a different computer. The user can login to retrieve all her/his Notes by clicking the login link.



  • Login - Options

  • If the user has entered notes while working offline (not logged in), on clicking the login button, the Notes Gadget verifies that different notes exist on the server and gives the user the following option.


    - If the User clicks Continue Offline, the user will remain offline (not logged in).
    - If the User clicks 'Update Notes with Server Data' - The notes written by the user in offline mode will be replaced by the ones saved on the server.
    - If the User clicks 'Update Notes with Current Data' - The notes on the server will be replaced by the notes currently entered by the gadget.

    Below we see that the user has selected 'Update Notes with Current Data', which logs the user in and the notes on the server have been replaced by the users current notes. (Thus all other clients, E.g. the IGoogle client, which display the users Notes will now see the new Notes.



    Back
  • Settings

  • Clicking the Options Menu as shown below brings up the settings panel.





    The Settings enable the user to change the current theme, Align Text, font style, font color, on note change slide Horizontal or Vertical and font size.
    The Slider Speed setting is used to change the speed at which the gadget will display the next/previous note on clicking the next/previous buttons.
    The Check If Server...Sync Settings are explained in the next section
    Below we show an example of the user making changes to the theme and font settings.



    On clicking Ok the Notes Gadget will be displayed as below



    The General tab has settings for the On StartUp, Sync Time and whether a confirmation is shown for deletionof notes as shown below.



    The Reset tab can be used if the user wants to delete all her/his settings, clear the notes and bring the gadget back to its initial state.
    Note:If the user is logged in she/he will be logged out, However the notes are still retained on the server and can be accessed be re-logging in or from any other SNO client.





    Back
  • Sync Settings

  • When the user is logged in the Google Desktop Sticky Notes Online Gadget on a computer, and is also logged on a different Sticky Note Online Gadget E.g. the IGoogle Sticky Notes Online Gadget, if the user modifies the notes on the other (IGoogle) gadget as show below.



    Based on the amount of time set in the 'Check Server Every' drop down list, The Google Desktop Notes Gadget will check if updated notes exist on the server, if the gadget finds more recent notes on the server it shows the following message



    On clicking the message the user is presented with the following options:-



    - If the User clicks 'Update Notes with Server Data' - The current notes in the Google Desktop Gadget will be replaced by the ones saved on the server.
    - If the User clicks 'Update Notes with Current Data' - The notes on the server will be replaced by the notes currently in the gadget.

    Below we see that the user has selected 'Update Notes with Server Data', which updates the Google Desktop Notes Gadget by the Notes present on the server (entered using the IGoogle gadget)



    Back
  • Network Disconnected

  • When the user starts his/her operating system and the Notes gadget starts in the Google Desktop Sidebar, if the user is logged in, the gadget tries to get the notes from the server, however if network connectivity is absent or there are issues with the server, the following message is shown



    On clicking the Notes Gadget, the user is presented with the following options.



    If the user selects try again, the gadget will try to access the Notes Server again, on success the users Notes will appear in the gadget, on failure the gadget will display the same message again.
    If the user selects Continue Offline, the user can access the Notes gadget in the offline mode, However if updates were made to the Notes from other clients while the current computer was shut down, those updates will not be reflected.

    Back

  • Email Notes
  • When the user is logged in, the the user can email/export her/his Notes to the email provided during registration or another email address.





    Back

    For any other questions/suggestions, Please send us an